jump to navigation

Anchor Lou Dobbs departs from CNN November 12, 2009

Posted by bigworldcentral in Breaking News, Misc., Politics, USA News.
trackback

Long time CNN anchor Lou Dobbs leaves CNN for quote on quote “other opportunity’s.” He officially left after broadcasting  his show “Lou Dobbs Tonight” and releasing a 2 minute statement.  Here is some of what he said as his departing statement;

“Tonight, I want to turn to a personal note if I may and address a matter that has raised some curiosity.

This will be my last broadcast here on CNN, where I have worked for most of the past 30 years and where I have many friends and colleagues whom I admire deeply and respect greatly.

I’m the last of the original anchors here on CNN, and I’m proud to have had the privilege of helping to build the world’s first news network. I am grateful for the many opportunities that CNN has given me over these many years, I’ve tried to reciprocate with the full measure of my ability and my energy.

Over the past six months, it’s become increasingly clear that strong winds of change have begun buffeting this country and affecting all of us. And some leaders in media, politics and business have been urging me to go beyond the role here at CNN and to engage in constructive problem-solving, as well as to contribute positively to a better understanding of the great issues of our day. And to continue to do so in the most honest and direct language possible.

I’ve talked extensively with Jonathan Klein; Jon’s the president of CNN, and as a result of those talks, Jon and I have agreed to a release from my contract that will enable me to pursue new opportunities.”

You can read more of his statement, here.

Lou Dobbs signed on with CNN in the early 1980s and was a successful business man, and his ratings went through the roof for many years. After 2001, things began to change has he became very opinionated on some things. This caused him to make many enemies, and his ratings spiked during this time. He then began to get complaints from immigration groups after opposing illegal immigrants, calling for CNN to fire Lou Dobbs. Dobbs, now 64, says this has been going on behind the scenes for months, and today was the right time to go.

Now, BWC asks, where will he go next? Rumors sprang up a few months back about him joining the Fox lineup, and becoming an anchor, these rumors where false but now that he has been cut loose, will he? Or will he do something else? We will stay on the story.

For more information on this suprisings story, click here.

Comments»

1. Zucker - November 13, 2009

Hey BWC, glad to connect! I saw Lou’s broadcast this week where he signed off. It is certainly a big moment for CNN, and I am extremely confident in his ability to continue making ripples in the political waters away from the spotlight. Whether or not that means working for the state, I don’t know. I’d like to see where he goes, as a liberal mind myself, I do value the opinions of others. Plus, come on! It’s Dobbs we’re talking about it. Mr. Independant!

All the best,
Zucker (Artifact)

2. Corina - November 15, 2009

It actually sounded to me like we can expect to see him running for political office some place. That would be very interesting. Just as the tide changed at the beginning of 2009, I think it is also changing now. It would be a very interesting race.

3. punditpawn - November 23, 2009

I’m curious what Dobbs has in mind. He’s been with CNN for so long he must be a Democrat, but he’s old enough to be ‘Old School’ and still have some traditional values. Maybe he’s the center candidate that’s going to surprise everyone in 2012.


Leave a Reply

